Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Code executing inconsistent

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    190
    Rep Power
    15

    Code executing inconsistent

    The code below has two (3) steps

    1) Finds & replaces values on the sheet

    2) Refresh the sheet (I added this later after I identified problem)

    3) Sorts the sheet

    Originally I did not have step 2 - so on some PCs my code works - others it does not - If I insert a code break then it works. So I think the problem is that the replacement routine has not completed b4 I start sorting - So by inserting 'Application.Calculate' I make sure the sheet is refreshed (so I think) - Not sure if this makes sense. If it does --- what is the proper code line to make sure the replacement is completed b4 the sorting starts


    Code:
            Selection.Replace WHAT:=MyString(iii), _
                    Replacement:=ProductNameSlt(ii), _
                    LookAt:=xlPart, SearchOrder:=xlByRows, MatchCase:=False
                    
            Application.Calculate '   Using This to refresh my sheet _
                                       WHAT IS THE RIGHT WAY
           
            
            Astr = "A1:" & Split(Cells(1, ColLast).Address, "$")(1) & LastRow
            .Range(Astr).Sort Key1:=.Columns(ColProductID), Order1:=xlAscending, Header:=xlYes




    I added this later in the post - would this be better

    Application.Wait Time + TimeSerial(0, 0, 1) 'Waits 1 second before code continues





    Now - this is the third Edit - It turns out that I had my entire code side the same

    WITH worksheet("sheet1)

    routine - I have now added END WITH and then immediately followed by a WITH worksheet("sheet1) in the next line - that has fixed the problem. I am puzzled by this - anybody ever had a similar experience.
    Last edited by Rasm; 02-07-2012 at 05:49 AM.
    xl2007 - Windows 7
    xl hates the 255 number

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    190
    Rep Power
    15
    OK - I think this is the memory ADO leak problem

    see

    Windows 8 Developer Preview build contains the complete fix of the ADO typelib issue

    Does anybody have method of connection Excel to Access using something different than an ADO libery
    xl2007 - Windows 7
    xl hates the 255 number

  3. #3
    Administrator Admin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    1,123
    Rep Power
    10
    Cheers !

    Excel Range to BBCode Table
    Use Social Networking Tools If You Like the Answers !

    Message to Cross Posters

    @ Home - Office 2010/2013/2016 on Win 10 (64 bit); @ Work - Office 2016 on Win 10 (64 bit)

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    190
    Rep Power
    15
    Thanks - was actually on their site earlier today (first time) - I will research that site some more - it looks good
    xl2007 - Windows 7
    xl hates the 255 number

Similar Threads

  1. Executing XLSM file on a web page
    By Rasm in forum Excel Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-17-2011, 05:38 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •