Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: testing

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Posts
    5
    Rep Power
    0

    testing

    vArray = Application.Index(Range("A1:A10").Value, Evaluate("={1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10}"), Evaluate("={1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1}"))
    vArray = Application.Index(Range("A1:A10").Value, Evaluate("={10,9,8,7,6,5,4,3,2,1}"), Evaluate("={1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1}")) ' Transpose it back to front
    And its probably worth noting that when you do it that way , sometimes things seem to work better when you use just Range
    vArray = Application.Index(Range("A1:A10"), Evaluate("={1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10}"), Evaluate("={1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1}"))
    vArray = Application.Index(Range("A1: A10"), Evaluate("={10,9,8,7,6,5,4,3,2,1}"), Evaluate("={1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1}")) ' Transpose it back to front

    Sometimes , better still, using Cells is another option
    vArray = Application.Index(Cells, Evaluate("={1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10}"), Evaluate("={1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1}"))
    vArray = Application.Index(Cells,("A1:A10"), Evaluate("={10,9,8,7,6,5,4,3,2,1}"), Evaluate("={1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1}")) ' Transpose it back to front


    [FONT=Arial]
    Using the Index( Arr() , Rws(), Clms() ) ) technique seems to be very versatile, and just one example would be to do that transpose, or variations of it.
    vArray = Application.Index(Range("A1:A10").Value, Evaluate("={1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10}"), Evaluate("={1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1}"))
    vArray = Application.Index(Range("A1:A10").Value, Evaluate("={10,9,8,7,6,5,4,3,2,1}"), Evaluate("={1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1}")) ' Transpose it back to front

    And its probably worth noting that when you do it that way , sometimes things seem to work better when you use just Range
    vArray = Application.Index(Range("A1:A10"), Evaluate("={1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10}"), Evaluate("={1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1}"))
    vArray = Application.Index(Range("A1: A10"), Evaluate("={10,9,8,7,6,5,4,3,2,1}"), Evaluate("={1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1}")) ' Transpose it back to front

    Sometimes , better still, using Cells is another option
    vArray = Application.Index(Cells, Evaluate("={1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10}"), Evaluate("={1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1}"))
    vArray = Application.Index(Cells,("A1:A10"), Evaluate("={10,9,8,7,6,5,4,3,2,1}"), Evaluate("={1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1}")) ' Transpose it back to front




    _____ Workbook: rejestr2.xls ( Using Excel 2007 32 bit )
    Row\Col
    A
    B
    C
    D
    1
    jeden Trzeci
    2
    Worksheet: Mójarkusz
    Last edited by Jewano; 10-11-2020 at 06:02 PM.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Posts
    5
    Rep Power
    0
    Test post

    h t t p:/ /w w w.eileenslounge.com/viewtopic.php?p=271035#p271035
    http://www.eileenslounge.com/viewtopic.php?p=271035#p271035

    Arial

    Courier New

    __________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _____________________




    [FORMULA]vArray[/FORMULA]

    Index( Arr() , Rws(), Clms() ) )


    Ref
    https://www.excelforum.com/excel-new-users-basics/1099995-application-index-with-look-up-rows-and-columns-arguments-as-vba-arrays.html#post4571172
    https://www.excelforum.com/tips-and-tutorials/758402-vba-working-with-areas-within-2d-arrays.html#post5408376
    http://www.eileenslounge.com/viewtopic.php?p=271035#p271035
    https://www.ozgrid.com/forum/index.php?thread/1227920-slicing-a-2d-array/&postID=1239241#post1239241
    https://eileenslounge.com/viewtopic.php?p=274367&sid=6b84ff6917c71e849aaeaa281d06fc31#p27436
    https://eileenslounge.com/viewtopic.php?f=30&t=34217&p=265384#p265384


    Like saided already, if default Option Base 0 it is at then like
    Dim Stats(20, 23) As Variant
    is same is
    Dim Stats(0 To 20, 0 To 23) As Variant


    it do mean is a 2 Dimensional array that has first dimension size of 21 and second dimension size of 24
    You can say like 21x24 sized 2 D array

    It is not really a table or a range, but we can think of it like that just for our convenience to think like it looks like this:


    Excel VBA will also be thinking Like that : For 21 rows and 24 columns, you can put in array and it will have similar dimensions
    Example is like: If I did do
    Dim MyArr1() As Variant
    Let MyArr1()=Range("A1:X21").Value


    or
    Dim MyArr2() As Variant
    Let MyArr2()=Range("B2:Y22").Value


    then all arrays are like 21x24, and Element type it is Variant,
    but only small differences:,
    Stats() it is fixed size, but like MyArr2() and MyArr1() they is dynamic, not a fixed size).
    and also
    MyArr2() and MyArr1() will be like (1 To 21, 1 To 24) always: For array from a spreadsheet range, always dimension indicia start at 1
    So this is why we can think, for convenience that
    Arr() is like similar to Arr(row , column)
    But it is a bit more complicates, so I did try to explain that for you

    Jewano

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Posts
    5
    Rep Power
    0
    testing for
    https://www.excelforum.com/excel-pro...ml#post5433028

    Code:
    '
    Sub Clms()
    Dim Ws As Worksheet: Set Ws = ThisWorkbook.Worksheets("IndexWithArraysWTF") '--Change to Suit Your Sht Preferrence
    
    Dim Clms() As Variant: Let Clms() = Evaluate("=column(A:H)") ' Returns 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
    Dim vTemp As Variant: Let vTemp = Evaluate("=mod(column(A:H),4)") 'Retuns Long Number 1
    Let Clms() = Evaluate("=If(column(A:H),mod(column(A:H),4))") 'Returns  1, 2, 3, 0, 1, 2, 3, 0
    Let Clms() = Evaluate("=If(column(A:G),mod(column(A:H),4))") 'Returns  1, 2, 3, 0, 1, 2, 3, error
    Let Clms() = Evaluate("=If(column(),mod(column(A:H),4))") 'Returns 1, 2, 3, 0, 1, 2, 3, 0
    Let Clms() = Evaluate("=If(row(),mod(column(A:H)-1,4))") 'Returns 0, 1, 2, 3, 0, 1, 2, 3
    Let Clms() = Evaluate("=Index((mod(column(A:H)-1,4)+1),)") 'Returns  1, 2, 3, 4,  1, 2, 3, 4
    End Sub
    
    Sub Rws()
    Dim Ws As Worksheet: Set Ws = ThisWorkbook.Worksheets("IndexWithArraysWTF") '--Change to Suit Your Sht Preferrence
    Dim Rws() As Variant: Let Rws() = Evaluate("=column(E:L)") ' Returns  5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12
    Let Rws() = Evaluate("=Index((int(column(E:L)/4)),)") 'Returns  1, 1, 1, 2, 2 ,2, 2, 3
    Let Rws() = Evaluate("=Index((int((column(E:L)-1)/4)),)") 'returns 1, 1, 1, 1, 2, 2, 2, 2
    Let Rws() = Evaluate("=Index(((int((column(E:L)-1)/4))+1),)") 'returns  2, 2, 2, 2, 3, 3, 3, 3
    End Sub
    '
    Sub AppIndexRT23C1234()
    Dim Ws As Worksheet: Set Ws = ThisWorkbook.Worksheets("IndexWithArraysWTF")
    Dim Rws() As Variant: Let Rws() = Evaluate("=row(2:3)") 'Returns 2 D 1 "column" Array , values  2 / 3
    Dim Clms() As Variant: Let Clms() = Evaluate("=column(A:D)") ' Returns 1, 2, 3, 4
    
    Dim arrOut() As Variant
    Let arrOut() = Application.Index(Ws.Cells, Rws(), Clms())
    End Sub
    '
    Sub AppIndexRT23CT1234()
    Dim Ws As Worksheet: Set Ws = ThisWorkbook.Worksheets("IndexWithArraysWTF")
    Dim Rws() As Variant: Let Rws() = Evaluate("=row(2:3)") 'Returns 2 D 1 "column" Array , values  2 / 3
    Dim Clms() As Variant: Let Clms() = Evaluate("=row(1:4)") 'Returns 2 D 1 "column" Array , values  1 / 2 / 3 / 4
    
    Dim arrOut() As Variant
    Let arrOut() = Application.Index(Ws.Cells, Rws(), Clms())
    End Sub
    '
    Sub AppIndexR23CT1234()
    Dim Ws As Worksheet: Set Ws = ThisWorkbook.Worksheets("IndexWithArraysWTF")
    Dim Rws() As Variant: Let Rws() = Evaluate("column(B:C)") 'Returns 1 D Array   2, 3
    Dim Clms() As Variant: Let Clms() = Evaluate("=row(1:4)") 'Returns 2 D 1 "column" Array , values  1 / 2 / 3 / 4
    
    Dim arrOut() As Variant
    Let arrOut() = Application.Index(Ws.Cells, Rws(), Clms())
    End Sub
    Code:
    Sub burakGenerateSequentialColumnIndiciesFromLetters() 'Dec 9    usefulgyaan.wordpress.com/2013/06/12/vba-trick-of-the-week-slicing-an-array-without-loop-application-index/
    'Variables for...
    Dim LB As Long, UB As Long '...User Given start and Stop Column as a Number
    Let LB = 2: Let UB = 25
    Dim strLtrLB As String, strLtrUB As String '...Column Letter corresponding to Column Number
    'There are many ways to get a Column Letter from a Column Number -  excelforum.com/tips-and-tutorials/1108643-vba-column-letter-from-column-number-explained.html
    Let strLtrLB = Split(Cells(1, LB).Address, "$")(1) 'An Address Method
    Let strLtrUB = Replace(Replace(Cells(1, UB).Address, "1", ""), "$", "") 'A Replace Method
    'Obtain Column Indicies using Spreadsheet Function Column via VBA Evaluate Method
    Dim Clms() As Variant
    Let Clms() = Evaluate("column(" & strLtrLB & ":" & strLtrUB & ")") 'Returns 1 D "pseudo" Horizontal Array of sequential numbers from column number of LB to UB
    'Or
    Clms() = Evaluate("column(" & Split(Cells(1, LB).Address, "$")(1) & ":" & Replace(Replace(Cells(1, UB).Address, "1", ""), "$", "") & ")")
    End Sub
    https://www.excelforum.com/excel-pro...e-columns.html
    https://www.excelforum.com/excel-pro...ml#post4381996
    https://www.excelforum.com/tips-and-...ml#post5408376
    https://www.excelforum.com/excel-pro...ml#post5410028

    Quote Originally Posted by Debanjan84 View Post
    I am looking for excel which can automate to display this:

    Backlog In Progress Done
    US-101 US-202 US-304
    US-205 US-305 US-201

    These data will be coming from the datasheet:

    ID Status
    US-101 Backlog
    US-202 In Progress
    US-304 Done
    US-205 Backlog
    US-305 In Progress
    US-201 Done
    Is it transpose you want…
    Quote Originally Posted by Debanjan84 View Post
    display this:
    _
    Backlog__In Progress__Done
    US-101__US-202____US-304
    US-205__US-305____US-201

    from These data
    _
    _ID_____Status
    US-101__Backlog
    US-202__In Progress
    US-304__Done
    US-205__Backlog
    US-305__In Progress
    US-201__Done
    Is it 2 columns to transpose to the 3 columns?


    Hello nigelog
    Just some info – you may know it already so can ignore this then ….

    When OP is new he knows nothing about forum software sometimes he does not know things like… code tags; tables format; forum editor it does “eat” extra spaces etc. etc.

    OP, it will often try to show table like maybe

    Header1___Header2
    _ a ________ B
    _c_________d

    But we will all then see after posting in final post is like:

    Header1 Header2
    a [B
    c d

    The problem is that for normal text the forum editors they all usually take out all but one single space in between words.

    But you can see what the OP posted if you first look what is in quote after you hit Reply With Quote

    Example, look here, https:/2/www.excelforum.com/excel-programming-vba-macros/1334235-automate-status.html
    You see difference between post and what is in quote after you hit Reply With Quote
    http://i.imgur.com/TIDS37S.jpg
    http://i.imgur.com/VE8aYty.jpg

    Look here:
    https://www.excelforum.com/excel-programming-vba-macros/1334235-automate-status.html#post5432969

    ( Is difficult for me to post link until I have at least 10 post rule is )
    Last edited by Jewano; 12-05-2020 at 02:23 PM.

  4. #4
    Fuhrer, Vierte Reich DocAElstein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    9,385
    Rep Power
    10
    Hello Jewano,
    ( a belated , Welcome to ExcelFox )

    Why have you created a new profile to do this testing?

    Alan

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Posts
    5
    Rep Power
    0
    I can testit there, but cannot edit for longer than 20 days is possible.
    ( I did see this first , then it is to this gonded.

    ( Is all here referenced many your postings ( Doc.AElstein ) is also , is why I came here is )

    Is To do it OK is?

    Jewano

  6. #6
    Fuhrer, Vierte Reich DocAElstein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    9,385
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by Jewano View Post
    ...Is To do it OK is?
    No issues
    ( Yes, (is to do it OK is ) )
    Last edited by DocAElstein; 12-04-2020 at 03:01 PM. Reason: Yes, (is to do it OK is ) .......
    ….If you are my competitor, I will try all I can to beat you. But if I do, I will not belittle you. I will Salute you, because without you, I am nothing.
    If you are my enemy, we will try to kick the fucking shit out of you…..
    Winston Churchill, 1939
    Save your Forum..._
    _...KILL A MODERATOR!!

  7. #7
    Fuhrer, Vierte Reich DocAElstein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    9,385
    Rep Power
    10
    Jewano,
    Please if you get a PM, then after read it delete it:
    Because is...
    If your Post box is full, then you can not get any more PMs.
    ( Is only small limit numbert of PMs can have at excelfox )

    Alan

    http://i.imgur.com/xpFYD81.jpg
    http://i.imgur.com/2IJzxg4.jpg

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Posts
    5
    Rep Power
    0
    https://www.mrexcel.com/board/thread.../#post-4370502
    https://www.mrexcel.com/board/thread...2#post-4370985
    https://www.excelforum.com/excel-pro...ml#post4382887
    https://www.mrexcel.com/board/thread...2#post-4375560


    test in supportjzke of this post: https://www.excelforum.com/excel-pro...ml#post5434477


    Header1___Header2
    _ a ________ B
    _c_________d


    Quote Originally Posted by Debanjan84 View Post
    can automate to display ...... data will be coming from the datasheet:...
    What do it mean?? How do it come??


    Is it transpose you want…
    Quote Originally Posted by Debanjan84 View Post
    display this:
    _
    Backlog__In Progress__Done
    US-101__US-202____US-304
    US-205__US-305____US-201

    from These data
    _
    _ID_____Status
    US-101__Backlog
    US-202__In Progress
    US-304__Done
    US-205__Backlog
    US-305__In Progress
    US-201__Done
    Is it 2 columns to transpose to the 3 columns?
    Or
    Is it 1 columns to transpose to the 3 columns
    Data is it in a worksheet? …… “coming from the datasheet…”..

    It can be formula , ( is CSE ( type 2 ) enter (might be not in 365 Office ) . It can be from 1 column or 2 columns, - I do show it is in the attached workbook, (Transpozycja.xls ) like that is:
    [FORMULA]=INDEX(LEFT(A2:A7,6),{1,2,3;4,5,6},{1,1,1;1,1,1})[/FORMULA]
    or
    [FORMULA]=INDEX(LEFT(A2:A7,6),(COLUMN(A:C)+((ROW(1:2)-1)*3)),(ROW(1:2)/ROW(1:2))*(COLUMN(A:C)/COLUMN(A:C)))[/FORMULA]


    We can do it same as in VBA, I did also do it in attached workbook, (Transpozycja.xls )
    Data can be in worksheet DataWKSheet – see it is in attached workbook is
    Code:
    Option Explicit
    Sub TransSpozgy() '  https://www.excelforum.com/excel-programming-vba-macros/1334235-automate-status.html
     Let ThisWorkbook.Worksheets("VBA Solution").Range("A1:C1").Value = Array("Backlog", "In Progress", "Done")
     Let ThisWorkbook.Worksheets("VBA Solution").Range("A2:C3").Value = Application.Index(ThisWorkbook.Worksheets("DataWKSheet").Evaluate("=if({1},LEFT(A2:A7,6))"), Evaluate("=column(A:C)+((row(1:2)-1)*3)"), Evaluate("=(ROW(1:2)/ROW(1:2))*(COLUMN(A:C)/COLUMN(A:C))"))
    End Sub
    ' Or
    Sub TransSprogy() '  https://www.excelforum.com/excel-programming-vba-macros/1334235-automate-status.html
     Let ThisWorkbook.Worksheets("VBA Solution").Range("A1:C1").Value = Array("Backlog", "In Progress", "Done")
    Dim Lr As Long
     Let Lr = ThisWorkbook.Worksheets("DataWKSheet").Range("A" & ThisWorkbook.Worksheets("DataWKSheet").Rows.Count & "").End(xlUp).Row
     Let ThisWorkbook.Worksheets("VBA Solution").Range("A2:C" & ((Lr - 1) / 3) + 1 & "").Value = Application.Index(ThisWorkbook.Worksheets("DataWKSheet").Evaluate("=if({1},LEFT(A2:A" & Lr & ",6))"), Evaluate("=column(A:C)+((row(1:" & (Lr - 1) / 3 & ")-1)*3)"), Evaluate("=(ROW(1:" & (Lr - 1) / 3 & ")/ROW(1:" & (Lr - 1) / 3 & "))*(COLUMN(A:C)/COLUMN(A:C))"))
    End Sub



    Ref:
    https://www.mrexcel.com/board/threads/vba-copy-2-dimensional-array-into-1-dimensional-single-column.908760/#post-4370502
    https://www mrexcel.com/board/threads/vba-copy-2-dimensional-array-into-1-dimensional-single-column.908760/page-2#post-4370985
    https://www.excelforum.com/excel-programming-vba-macros/1138627-dividing-the-items-of-an-array-over-multiple-columns.html#post4382887
    https://www.mrexcel.com/board/threads/vba-copy-2-dimensional-array-into-1-dimensional-single-column.908760/page-2#post-4375560
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by DocAElstein; 03-09-2021 at 02:18 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. Testing Image Links
    By DocAElstein in forum Test Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-19-2022, 01:57 PM
  2. Replies: 19
    Last Post: 04-20-2019, 02:38 PM
  3. Replies: 18
    Last Post: 03-17-2019, 06:10 PM
  4. Testing functionalities
    By Admin in forum Test Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-01-2016, 04:02 PM
  5. testing BBCode with conditional formatting
    By Admin in forum Test Area
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-20-2016, 08:36 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •