Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Autofit Merged Cell Row Height for Some Specific Rows Only

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Posts
    66
    Rep Power
    5

    Autofit Merged Cell Row Height for Some Specific Rows Only

    Hello!
    I've find the following code which can autofit all protected/unprotected row with merged cells and text wrap on.
    (Macro is taken from https://www.mrexcel.com/board/thread...-cells.556709/)

    Code:
    Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range) 
    Dim NewRwHt As Single 
    Dim cWdth As Single, MrgeWdth As Single 
    Dim c As Range, cc As Range 
    Dim ma As Range 
    Dim ProtectStatus As Boolean 
    
    With Target 
    If .MergeCells And .WrapText Then 
    ProtectStatus = Me.ProtectContents 
    If ProtectStatus Then Me.Unprotect  "password" 
    Set c = Target.Cells(1, 1) 
    cWdth = c.ColumnWidth 
    Set ma = c.MergeArea 
    For Each cc In ma.Cells 
    MrgeWdth = MrgeWdth + cc.ColumnWidth 
    Next 
    Application.ScreenUpdating = False 
    On Error Resume Next 
    ma.MergeCells = False 
    c.ColumnWidth = MrgeWdth 
    c.EntireRow.AutoFit 
    NewRwHt = c.RowHeight 
    c.ColumnWidth = cWdth 
    ma.MergeCells = True 
    ma.RowHeight = NewRwHt 
    cWdth = 0: MrgeWdth = 0 
    On Error GoTo 0 
    Application.ScreenUpdating = True 
    If ProtectStatus Then Me.Protect "password" 
    End If 
    End With 
    End Sub

    Requirement:
    The code should be applied to some specific range only, not in the whole sheet.

    Alternatively,
    I want to escape some merged cells from autofit even if the wrap text is on for these cells.


    I tried to solve this problem by myself and added a simple line in the code (just before the line With Target)
    Code:
    If Not Intersect(Target, Range("B35:Z35", "D44:R44")) Is Nothing Then
    and it works.

    But, as soon as I added the third range,
    Code:
    If Not Intersect(Target, Range("B35:Z35", "D44:R44", "G55:Z55")) Is Nothing Then
    it stopped working by highlighting the word Range and with the pop up-
    "Compile Error: Wrong number of argument or invalid property assignment"

    I know, I'm wrong, but where, I don't know.

    Thanks!

    (This thread is also cross posted at https://www.mrexcel.com/board/thread...-only.1145918/)

  2. #2
    Fuhrer, Vierte Reich DocAElstein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    9,402
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,
    I can answer some of your question, possibly not all. ( I have no experience with protection. Also, like most people using VBA coding, I avoid anything to do with Merged Cells, since they cause a lot of very awkward problems in VBA coding )

    I can Explain your error
    The short answer is that this
    Range("B35:Z35", "D44:R44", "G55:Z55")
    should probably be this:
    Range("B35:Z35,D44:R44,G55:Z55")

    To explain further:in more detail
    The mistake you made is a typical mistake often made due to VBA having 2 similar but different syntaxes in the code line part like
    __Range(___ )

    I will call them Syntax 1 and Syntax 2 for the sake of explanation here. There is little clear documentation on the two different syntaxes. So like you, most people find out about it the hard way when something goes wrong!!

    Syntax 1
    This takes two arguments. Either can be a string or a range object , usually** these are the Top_Left and Bottom_Right of a single rectangular area.
    Pseudo like this
    __Range(Top_Left, Bottom_Right)
    Syntax 1 returns you a single rectangular area
    (**In fact it is not actually necessarily top left and bottom right . In fact, those two arguments set the extremes, and Excel VBA chooses a single rectangular range that encompasses those two ranges.
    For Example, VBA interprets Range("F7", "D9:E10") as the entire single area including all encompassing cells here of D7 to F10. ( In VBA jargon – It is one single rectangular area of contiguous cells )
    Row\Col C D E F G
    6
    7
    1
    1
    1
    8
    1
    1
    1
    9
    1
    1
    1
    10
    1
    1
    1
    11
    So, for example, in order to get those 1s to appear in that range above, we can use this single code line
    Range("F7", "D9:E10").Value = 1
    More typically, you would likely do it like pseudo __Range(Top_Left, Bottom_Right) , so like
    Range("D7", "F10").Value = 1
    or various variations on that basic __Range(Top_Left, Bottom_Right) such as
    Range(Range("D7"), "F10").Value = 1
    or
    Range(Cells(7, 4), "F10").Value = 1
    Etc… etc…

    Your error occurred because you were using this first syntax in your Range(___ ) , but you tried to give it three arguments , not the two that it was expecting.
    I don’t personally like Syntax 1. It is a awkward syntax and due to its various forms of taking either a string or a range. It often causes problems/ misunderstandings, unexpected errors due to people not fully understanding the syntax , etc.


    I think you probably wanted Syntax 2

    Syntax 2
    This takes one string argument. But, this string has a syntax that can include as many different Areas as you like




    Run this short test macro , in step mode ( using F8 when in the coding in the VB Editor ) , on a spare worksheet, and I think you will see what I mean about the two different syntaxes
    Code:
    Sub Testie() '   https://excelfox.com/forum/showthread.php/2639-Autofit-Merged-Cell-Row-Height-for-Some-Specific-Rows-Only
    1  Cells.Clear
    2  range("A1:B1", "C2:C3").Value = 1           'Syntax 1    ' This fills range A1:C3
       Cells.Clear
       range("A1:B1", range("C2:C3")).Value = 1    'Syntax 1    ' This fills range A1:C3
    3  Cells.Clear
    4  range("A1:C3").Value = 1                    'Syntax 2    ' This fills range A1:C3
    5  Cells.Clear
    6  range("A1:B1,C2:C3").Value = 1              'Snytax 2    ' This fills ranges A1:B1  and  C2:C3
    7  Cells.Clear
    8  'Range("A1:B1", "C2:C3", "E2:F3").Value = 1 ' This errors as the syntax should be pseudo   Range(Top_Left, Bottom_Right)
    9  Cells.Clear
    10 range("A1:B1,C2:C3,E2:F3").Value = 1        'Snytax 2    ' This fills ranges  A1:B1  and  C2:C3  and  E2:F3
    End Sub

    Code line 2
    Syntax 1 ____Range("A1:B1", "C2:C3").Value = 1 ‘ 2 string arguments
    _________or
    ____ ______ Range("A1:B1", Range("C2:C3")).Value = 1 ‘ a string argument and a range object argument
    _____ Workbook: Simplified.xlsm ( Using Excel 2007 32 bit )
    Row\Col A B C D
    1 1 1 1
    2 1 1 1
    3 1 1 1
    4
    Worksheet: Sheet2


    Code line 4
    Syntax 2 ___Range("A1:C3").Value = 1 ‘ A single string argjumant
    _____ Workbook: Simplified.xlsm ( Using Excel 2007 32 bit )
    Row\Col A B C D
    1 1 1 1
    2 1 1 1
    3 1 1 1
    4
    Worksheet: Sheet2


    Code line 6
    Syntax 2 ___Range("A1:B1,C2:C3").Value = 1 ‘ A single string argjumant
    _____ Workbook: Simplified.xlsm ( Using Excel 2007 32 bit )
    Row\Col A B C D
    1 1 1
    2 1
    3 1
    4
    Worksheet: Sheet2


    Code line 8
    False use of Syntax 1 _ Range("A1:B1", "C2:C3", "E2:F3").Value = 1
    This last code line will error because you tried to use 3 string arguments : You need to use a single string argument, Syntax 2, as in the next example



    Code line 10
    Syntax 2 ___Range("A1:B1,C2:C3,E2:F3").Value = 1 ‘ A single string argjumant
    _____ Workbook: Simplified.xlsm ( Using Excel 2007 32 bit )
    Row\Col A B C D E F G
    1 1 1
    2 1 1 1
    3 1 1 1
    4
    Worksheet: Sheet2




    In your example you used this false use of syntax 1
    Range("B35:Z35", "D44:R44", "G55:Z55")
    You probably wanted Syntax 2
    Range("B35:Z35,D44:R44,G55:Z55")




    Note also: When you used
    Range("B35:Z35", "D44:R44")
    You were possibly not doing exactly what you wanted: That code part returned you a single rectangular range with top left of B35 , and bottom right of Z44
    You probably wanted a range object of two rectangular Areas , B35:Z35 and D44:R44
    For that range object of two areas you needed syntax 2 once again. Like
    Range("B35:Z35,D44:R44")


    Alan
    Last edited by DocAElstein; 09-24-2020 at 12:35 PM.
    ….If you are my competitor, I will try all I can to beat you. But if I do, I will not belittle you. I will Salute you, because without you, I am nothing.
    If you are my enemy, we will try to kick the fucking shit out of you…..
    Winston Churchill, 1939
    Save your Forum..._
    _...KILL A MODERATOR!!

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Posts
    66
    Rep Power
    5
    Really Nice Explanation with every steps, points and highlights! Now I understand where was the fault. Apart from the knowledge, this thread also enriched my experience about seeing the VBA problem with a different view to solve it effectively.

    The solution is working well, without any issue.

    Thank you for this solution and explanation!!

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-26-2014, 03:04 PM
  2. VBA Code To Autofit The Row Height Of Merged Cells
    By David Michael in forum Excel Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-07-2014, 01:16 AM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-25-2014, 10:55 PM
  4. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-01-2013, 03:52 PM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-05-2012, 09:51 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •