View Full Version : Copy Row To Another Sheet Depending On Existence Of Specific Value In Specific Column
peter renton
06-29-2013, 11:29 PM
Hi i have attached a sample wb
On it i have two sheets (but they will end up with 1 to 31) named 1 ton 31
i can get any row tagged with the word copy in sheet1 to be coppied onto sheet 2, how can i then get any row tagged in sheet 2 to be coppied to 3 then 3 to 4 etc?
it would be good if the copied row did not carry over the word copy onto the new sheet.
Would i need to put a code in each sheet????
Any help would be appriciated
Excel Fox
06-30-2013, 12:59 AM
Peter, you have been guided regarding thread posting. Next time, please adhere to Thread Posting guidelines.
Here's a modified version of your existing code. This can be used for all the sheets, except the last sheet in the workbook.
Sub SearchForString()
Dim LSearchRow As Integer
Dim LCopyToRow As Integer
On Error GoTo Err_Execute
'Start search in row 6
LSearchRow = 6
'Start copying data to row 13 in Sheet2 (row counter variable)
LCopyToRow = 13
While Len(Range("A" & CStr(LSearchRow)).Value) > 0
'If value in column E = "Copy", copy entire row to Sheet2
If Range("E" & CStr(LSearchRow)).Value = "Copy" Then
With Sheets(ActiveSheet.Next.Name)
.Range(LCopyToRow & ":" & LCopyToRow).Value = _
Range(CStr(LSearchRow) & ":" & CStr(LSearchRow)).Value
.Cells(LCopyToRow, "E").ClearContents
End With
'Move counter to next row
LCopyToRow = LCopyToRow + 1
End If
LSearchRow = LSearchRow + 1
Wend
'Position on cell A3
Range("A3").Select
MsgBox "All Selected Rows Have Been Copied To The Next Sheet ."
Exit Sub
Err_Execute:
MsgBox "An error occurred."
End Sub
peter renton
06-30-2013, 02:12 PM
Hi
Thank you for the code,
I have replaced my old code with yours in mod 1 and it works from sheet1 to sheet 2, but when i add another sheet it does not copy from 2 to 3 do i need to do something else for it to recognise future added sheets???
Peter
Excel Fox
06-30-2013, 07:04 PM
No you don't. You just need to assign the same macro to each button on further sheets
peter renton
06-30-2013, 11:31 PM
Hi
Again forgive my stupidity, but i just copy a clone page and this copies everything, the time start macro works, but the copy wont, when i look on the sheet code
the macro code is there???
peter
Excel Fox
07-01-2013, 07:28 AM
The macro should not be in the sheet, but in the module. And no matter how many times you copy over a sheet, the macro will always remain that single one in the module. It's just that the button in each of the sheets will be assigned that macro.
peter renton
07-01-2013, 12:49 PM
Hi
I still cant get this to work (dont know what i am doing wrong)
if a copy a sheet after sheet one the copy button will work regardless of what the second sheet is named, but if i add another sheet when i press the button the pop up says all items coppied but nothing happens.
When i copy the sheet the call searchforstring is in the coding in each sheet? there are no errors ?? have you any ideas
Did you get it to work on my test file ???
Peter
Excel Fox
07-01-2013, 03:03 PM
It worked on your test file. Like I said, the code should be in the code module. It should NOT be in the sheet code module. When you copy a sheet, the code DOESN'T get copied over and over again.
peter renton
07-01-2013, 03:52 PM
Hi
I have been copying sheets by holding down the mousebutton and ctrl which copies every thing, is this not the way to do it ?
Peter
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.5 Copyright © 2025 vBulletin Solutions Inc. All rights reserved.